Writing: Patterns and Change – Guest Post…

Returned to my worpress.com site from self-hosting (don’t ask!). Not sure if I can reblog, but I’ll try. 🙂

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

Story Mapping

I have written memoirs and historical fiction before and tried my hand at short stories, but Miami Morning is my first novel. The mistakes became apparent to me as the book neared completion. What to do? Rearrange all the chapters? Write it again? Then there are those supporting characters. Are they playing a role or am I simply fond of them?

These questions refer to the creation of a coherent pattern, one that the reader will see as sensible and magical at the same time. I decided to work to make my mistakes comprehensible, and resolve not to make them again. Finally, I began to see the threads coming together. One of the fascinating experiences of writing is seeing a pattern emerge from the themes, ideas, and characters’ trajectories.

It was interesting as well to realize that my main character, Leila Payson, in bringing together the various threads in…

View original post 141 more words

2 thoughts on “Writing: Patterns and Change – Guest Post…

Leave a Reply

