GOING BACK TO WORDPRESS.COM

Why? Because I’ve had so much trouble over a two-year period from my self-hosted site. I could post, but I couldn’t customise, or do anything else radical without putting my password in. I’d forgotten my password, and every time I tried to change it, I was sent to the page that says ‘Couldn’t find what you’re looking for’! I was fit to be tied, and if I had a knife I’d have stuck it in someone!

game-of-bones-bk-18-360x540-website-1

No. Don’t get excited. I’m only using the cover of my work-in-progress to demonstrate how I felt. I’ve spent so much time trying to sort out the *!*!*!* website, I haven’t been able to concentrate on my book.

Anyway, I explained the problem to WordPress. Several times. I explained the problem to my self-host, Hostgator. Several times. I explained my problem to my designer. Several times. I couldn’t get an answer that solved my problem from any of them.

I’d also suffered a stroke in the intervening months, so I really could do without all the hassle and sheer frustration. I was left paralysed down the right (main) side, so I suffered from enough frustration already without my website adding to it. I’d give you a list of the things I can no longer do, but it would be a long list, and you’d die of boredom before you got to the end. Besides, I’m still discovering what they are!

No, I’m no Einstein when it comes to tech things, I’ll grant you that, and if I wasn’t so inept, I could probably have fixed it. All you techies are probably laughing your socks off at my dilemma, and saying, ‘Dumb broad’. Fair enough. You can’t be good at everything. Most of the things I am good at, are part of that long list I mentioned earlier.

I had reached the stage of throwing in the towel to such an extent that I hardly ever posted. But now I’m involved in several bundles, and I need to show willing and promote them.

Amazingly, my wordpress.com site worked-no password required, so I finally decided to return to it. Okay, it might not have all the bells and whistles of the self-hosted, designer-created site, but at least I can get into it! For now, possibly forever, that’s all I require.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

